The Girl From Everywhere

21979832

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

The cover: I love the cover – it conveys everything about the book, intrigues the reader to pick it up, and does it all with a simple imagery. And the tagline. The tagline is amazing.

The premise: The premise of the book intrigued me very much, and I was looking forward to a fun adventure with a spunky heroine. And of course, the time traveling ship that can use imaginary maps to navigate. To me, this premise promised a breath of fresh air in field of time-traveling books.

The plot: I enjoyed the time traveling parts very much; reading how the crew jumps from era to era was delightful. But most of the characters didn’t work for me. Perhaps because this is the first book in a series, and the author plans on introducing more complex dimensions to them in the later books, but I found many of the characters to be defined by one thing. Some of that could be intentional (like the Captain’s overwhelming obsession for restoring his lost love), but it just didn’t work for me when it seemed like the characters were checking off a list of actions. I think that is also part of the reason why I found the pacing of the book to be slow. I love big books because they promise character and plot development, the plot development I got, but the character development was lacking for me.

I still love the premise, and think the story has potential. While I won’t be shoving this book in everyone’s hands, I can definitely see some people enjoying it. As for myself, I will be keeping an eye out for the next book in the series and giving that another go when the time comes.

Overall Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

